Virology – Key Faculty

Associate Professor of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology and Pathology and Immunology

Phone314-286-0857

Fax314-286-2784

Emailjboon@wustl.edu

Dr. Boon He specializes in basic research on RNA viruses, with a special focus on emerging virus such as influenza virus, Bourbon virus and SARS-CoV-2.

The Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-362-2842

Fax314-362-9230

Emaildiamond@wusm.wustl.edu

Michael Diamond, MD, PhD is the leader of a basic and translational research laboratory studying the interface between viral pathogenesis and host immunity. His laboratory focuses on emerging RNA viruses including flaviviruses, alphaviruses, and coronaviruses.

The Robert E. and Louise F. Dunn Distinguished Professor of Medical Sciences

Phone314-286-2140

Fax314-362-9230

Emailrklein@wustl.edu

Dr. Klein is an internationally renowned neuroimmunologist who oversees a basic and translational science research program focused on the pathogenesis of neuroinfectious diseases of the central nervous system (CNS). Studies in the Klein laboratory focus on cellular and molecular mechanisms that orchestrate inflammation and define its impact on CNS function during both viral and autoimmune encephalitides.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgkyei@wustl.edu

Dr. Kyei specializes in HIV basic and translational research, with a special focus on viral latency and reactivation specifically:  (i) characterization of factors that control HIV replication in macrophages, dendritic and resting T cells and (ii) identification of cellular factors and small molecules required for HIV reactivation in latently infected cell and (iii) perspectives of HIV patients on HIV cure.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-286-0645

Emaildwleung@wustl.edu

The Leung Lab is focused on developing a mechanistic understanding of host-pathogen interactions that contribute to viral pathogenesis through immune evasion.

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, and Pathology and Immunology

Phone314-747-4439

Fax314-273-2486

Emailminer@wustl.edu

Mailing AddressCSRB
Washington University School of Medicine
Campus Box 8051
4990 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110

Research and Clinical Interests: Dr. Miner is a rheumatologist with interests in autoimmunity and antiviral immunity.  His laboratory studies viruses and rare rheumatic diseases caused by mutations in antiviral genes.  He also conducts clinical trials and cares for patients with a rare genetic disease called retinal vasculopathy with cerebral leukoencephalopathy (RVCL).

Instructor in Medicine

Emailsharmila.nair@wustl.edu

Dr. Nair’s research focuses on defining the role of Staphylococcus colonization in control of skin viral infections and Investigating the mechanisms of Zika virus-based oncolytic activity against glioblastoma and potential of combination therapies  and/or current radiation strategies.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrpresti@wustl.edu

Dr. Presti specializes in clinical and translational research in infectious disease, with a special focus on HIV, SARS-CoV-2 and other viral infections.

Instructor in Medicine

Phone314-454-8254

Emaila.rauseoacevedo@wustl.edu

Dr. Rauseo specializes in clinical infectious diseases, with a special focus on mycology and infectious that affect immunocompromised hosts. Since the outset of the COVID-19 pandemic she has served as an investigator in the Infectious Disease Clinical Research Unit (ID-CRU) in multiple clinical trials and translational research in the fight against COVID-19.

Assistant Professor

Phone314-747-0050

Emailliang.shan@wustl.edu

The Shan lab uses in vitro, ex vivo, and humanized mouse models to study basic immunobiology of HIV infection and develops immunotherapeutic strategies towards an HIV cure; HIV-1 infection and host immune responses

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-8368

Emailjonathan.sheehan@wustl.edu

Dr. Sheehan specializes in personalized structural biology, with a special focus on the molecular basis of disease mechanisms.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-3888

Emailhaina.shin@wustl.edu

Dr. Shin’s reserach interest is in immune responses to herpes simplex virus infection

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-1212

Emailmbaldridge@wustl.edu

Dr. Baldridge studies the complicated interplay among three important factors: commensal microbes, the host immune system, and viral and bacterial pathogens.