ID-CRU/ACTU About Us

Established in 1987, the Washington University ACTU has been a highly productive participant in the AIDS Clinical Trials Group and is funded by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. Centrally located in the Midwest, it draws participants from Missouri, Illinois, Arkansas, Kansas, Tennessee, Nebraska and Oklahoma. Within the Division of Infectious Diseases, this ACTU is considered among the finest in the world. The Washington University ID-CRU is known for their expertise and is well established in the community. Led by Rachel Presti, MD, PhD, the ID-CRU provides access to HIV and Infectious Disease research opportunities, community outreach and education

Recently added to the ID-CRU is the HIV Prevention Trials Network PrEP program. Washington University is one of 28 US sites conducting this program and it is a first for the university and division. The overarching goal of the program focuses on providing new, innovative methods for increasing HIV preventive services for those at risk in the community. This combined community outreach, community engagement and biomedical intervention is a first of its kind. The ID-CRU is proud to host this program.

Our pharmacist Mike Royal brings a human face to research.

Staff

Rachel M. Presti, MD, PhD

Principal Investigator
Assistant Professor of Medicine

rpresti@wustl.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

David B. Clifford, MD

Investigator Professor of Medicine and Neurology

clifforddb@wustl.edu 

Andrej Spec, MD, MSCI

Assistant Professor of Medicine Associate Director of ID-CRU

aspec@wustl.edu

                 Mike Klebert, PhD, RN, ANP-BC
Regulatory Coordinator
mklebert@wustl.edu

Jane O’Halloran MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

janeaohalloran@wustl.edu

 

Lisa Kessels, RN

Nurse Manger – Clinical Research Coordinator

lkessels@wustl.edu

Teresa Spitz, RN, CCRC
Senior Clinical Research Coordinator
tspitz@wustl.edu

Sara Hubert

Clinical Research Coordinator

shubert@wustl.edu

Kim Gray, Ed.D, MSN, ANP, BC

Clinical Research Coordinator

kgray@wustl.edu

Ryley Thompson

Clinical Research Coordinator

ryley@wustl.edu

Colleen Richmond, MS, RN

Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator

cmrichmond@wustl.edu

Cathy Henry

Data Manager

cathy.henry@wustl.edu

Britanny Schneider

Clinical Research Coordinator, BS

sbrittany@wustl.edu

Mike Royal, RPh

Staff Pharmacist

mroyal@wustl.edu 

Stacey Plambeck Suess

Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator

plambeck@wustl.edu

 

Anita Afghanzada

Clinical Lab Technologist II

aafghanzada@wustl.edu

Christine Lee

Clinical Research Coordinator

leec@wustl.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tina Robinson

Clinical Research Coordinator

trobinso@wustl.edu

 

 

 

 

Constance Cafazza

Data Manger

cafazzac@wustl.edu

Natalie Schodl

Clinical Lab Technologist II

n.schodl@wustl.edu 

Meghan Gaw

Medical Secratery I

gaw@wustl.edu