Parasitic Infections – Key Faculty

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5392

Emailpbudge@wustl.edu

Dr. Budge specializes in translational, public health-related research, with a special focus on filarial infections—insect-borne threadlike parasitic worms that cause lymphatic filariasis (elephantiasis), onchocerciasis (river blindness), and loiasis (African eye worm).

The Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-362-2842

Fax314-362-9230

Emaildiamond@wusm.wustl.edu

Michael Diamond, MD, PhD is the leader of a basic and translational research laboratory studying the interface between viral pathogenesis and host immunity. His laboratory focuses on emerging RNA viruses including flaviviruses, alphaviruses, and coronaviruses.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Dr. Fischer specializes in basic and translational sciences to support the control and elimination of neglected tropical diseases, with a special focus on helminths.

David M. and Paula L. Kipnis Distinguished Professor

Phone314-362-1514

Fax314-367-3214

Emailgoldberg@borcim.wustl.edu

Dr. Goldberg does basic research on the biology of malaria and identification of drug targets. Parasites have evolved many clever ways to infect their hosts and develop within them. Researching these processes at a molecular level should lead to treatment or prevention of parasitic infections that afflict most of humanity. His laboratory currently has 4 graduate students, 2 postdocs, one pediatric ID fellow, one technician and a research associate professor. Dr. Goldberg directs the Infectious Diseases/Basic Microbial Mechanisms T32 training grant.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-4780

Emailistvan@wustl.edu

Research Interest: mapping the malaria parasite druggable genome

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-286-2005

Fax314-286-1810

Emailmmitreva@wustl.edu

Research Interst: Dr. Mitreva’s current research takes advantage of next-generation genomic and computational approaches to empower the study of infectious diseases and the human microbiome; helminth genomics, human metagenomics.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8982

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrrao@wustl.edu

Research Interest: molecular and biological aspects of filarial worms, diagnostics, role of Wolbachia endobacteria in filarial worm biology; filarial Infection epidemiology.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3142861897

Emailbarosa@wustl.edu

Dr. Rosa’s experience in the statistical analysis of complex datasets (utilizing multiple types of evidence spanning treatments or species) has led to the identification differentially expressed genes, drug targets and pathways of interest for experimental verification.

Professor, Departments of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5293

Emailgweil@wustl.edu

Dr. Weil’s research group conducts research on filarial nematode parasites that cause important tropical diseases such as elephantiasis and river blindness. This includes basic research on parasite biology and translational research to develop improved diagnostic tests and treatments.