Bacterial Infections – Key Faculty & Specific Research Interests

 

Instructor in Medicine

Emailjjcalix@wustl.edu

Research Interest: clinical research, bacterial genomics and molecular microbiology to identify host and microbial determinants of understudied infections, such as non-hospital acquired Acinetobacter baumannii infections and Staphylococcus aureus blood stream infections in persons who inject drugs (collaboration with Laura Marks, MD, PhD, ID division).

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Dr. Fischer specializes in basic and translational sciences to support the control and elimination of neglected tropical diseases, with a special focus on helminths.

Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-362-9218

Fax314-362-9129

Emailjflecken@wustl.edu

Research Interest: Enterotoxigenic Escherichia coli (ETEC) molecular pathogenesis and vaccine development.

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-0240

Fax314-362-1232

Emailjhenders@wustl.edu

Dr. Henderson specializes in infection pathogenesis, with a special focus on urinary tract infections and identifying how special bacterial adaptations increase pathogenic potential in patients.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailfkuhlman@wustl.edu

Dr. Kuhlmann specializes in translational sciences, with a special focus on global health.  He studies the interaction between malnutrition and infectious diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailj.kwon@wustl.edu

Dr. Kwon specializes in clinical and translational research with a focus on antimicrobial resistance and infection prevention.

Instructor in Medicine

Dr. Marks specializes in clinical infectious diseases with a special focus on infectious complications in people who inject drugs.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-3044

Fax314-362-4096

Emailmmiller23@wustl.edu

Interests: in vivo imaging approaches to study cellular immunity, in particular cellular mechanisms of antigen presentation and leukocyte trafficking during infection and inflammation

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-8058

Emailphilips.j.a@wustl.edu

Dr. Philips is principal investigator of an NIH-funded lab that studies how Mycobacterium tuberculosis evades the host immune response.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-1212

Emailmbaldridge@wustl.edu

Research Interest: We study the complicated interplay among three important factors: commensal microbes, the host immune system, and viral and bacterial pathogens.