Bacterial Infections – Key Faculty & Specific Research Interests

 

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailedubberk@wustl.edu

Dr. Dubberke specializes in clinical and translational infectious diseases, with a focus on transplant infectious diseases, hospital epidemiology, and Clostridioides difficile infection (CDI).

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Dr. Fischer specializes in basic and translational sciences to support the control and elimination of neglected tropical diseases, with a special focus on helminths.

Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-362-9218

Fax314-362-9129

Emailjflecken@wustl.edu

Dr. Fleckenstein’s lab focuses on the identification and molecular characterization of novel ETEC virulence factors that could serve as targets for vaccine development. Studies in the lab use a variety of molecular techniques and in vitro and in vivo models to elucidate the role of these novel virulence factors in several key steps essential in the pathogenesis of these organisms: bacterial adhesion, intestinal colonization, and finally toxin delivery.

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-0240

Fax314-362-1232

Emailjhenders@wustl.edu

Dr. Henderson specializes in infection pathogenesis, with a special focus on urinary tract infections and identifying how special bacterial adaptations increase pathogenic potential in patients.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailfkuhlman@wustl.edu

Dr. Kuhlmann specializes in translational sciences, with a special focus on global health.  He studies the interaction between malnutrition and infectious diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailj.kwon@wustl.edu

Dr. Kwon specializes in clinical and translational research with a focus on antimicrobial resistance and infection prevention.

Instructor in Medicine

Dr. Marks specializes in clinical infectious diseases with a special focus on infectious complications in people who inject drugs.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-3044

Fax314-362-4096

Emailmmiller23@wustl.edu

Dr. Miller manages core operations, technical & scientific consultations , 2-photon imaging. His interests are in vivo imaging approaches to study cellular immunity, in particular cellular mechanisms of antigen presentation and leukocyte trafficking during infection and inflammation.

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-8058

Emailphilips.j.a@wustl.edu

Dr. Philips is principal investigator of an NIH-funded lab that studies how Mycobacterium tuberculosis evades the host immune response.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-1212

Emailmbaldridge@wustl.edu

Dr. Baldridge studies the complicated interplay among three important factors: commensal microbes, the host immune system, and viral and bacterial pathogens.