Faculty and Staff

Learn more about the Division’s faculty and staff, including fellows, nurse practitioners and physician assistants.

All
Position
by Last Name
Filtered by

Faculty with Adjunct Status

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emailhbabcock@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Babcock’s research interests include prevention and outcomes of healthcare associated infections.

Her clinical interests are bone and joint infections and leads the Bone and Joint ID Consult Service

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailtbailey@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-1212

Emailmbaldridge@wustl.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-8065

Fax314-362-6959

Emailepbarrette@wustl.edu

Physician Assistant - Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-747-1206

Emailbettlachl@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmblanco@wustl.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-286-0857

Fax314-286-2784

Emailjboon@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5392

Emailpbudge@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Emailanne.butler@wustl.edu

Fourth Year Fellow - completing Physician Scientist Training Program

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailabigail.carlson@va.gov

First Year Fellow

First Year Fellow

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcchrisler@wustl.edu

Professor, Departments of Medicine and Neurology

Phone314-747-8423

Fax314-747-842

Emailcliffordd@neuro.wustl.edu

The Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-362-2842

Fax314-362-9230

Emaildiamond@wusm.wustl.edu

Nurse Practitioner, ID Tranasplant Service

Phone314-747-5703

Fax314-454-5392

Emailjdoiron@wustl.edu

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailedubberk@wustl.edu

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcdunagan@bjc.org

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmdurkin@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgescota@wustl.edu

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-362-9218

Fax314-362-9129

Emailjflecken@wustl.edu

Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-8061

Fax314-362-8015

Emailvfraser@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8276

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgandras@wustl.edu

Dr. Gandra joined the Infectious Diseases Division in January 2019. After his infectious disease fellowship at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in 2013, he worked at the Center Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy (CDDEP) institute in Washington, DC until 2017. At CDDEP he was involved in the surveillance of antibiotic resistance, antibiotic consumption and establishing a repository of global antibiotic resistance data. His work at CDDEP also focused on understanding the drivers of antibiotic resistance and consumption in India and other low-income countries.  In 2018, he completed medical microbiology fellowship at the University of Chicago/NorthShore University HealthSystem.

Phone314-747-4373

Emaildgase@wustl.edu

Professor of Medicine

Emailelvin.geng@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Geng’s interests include Implementation research, HIV, and engagement in treatment and care.

His clinical interests are in HIV and general infectious diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailigeorge@wustl.edu

Ige George, MD, joined the division of Infectious Diseases in January, 2016.

David M. and Paula L. Kipnis Distinguished Professor

Phone314-362-1514

Fax314-367-3214

Emailgoldberg@borcim.wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3144548354

Fax3144545392

Emailyhamad@wustl.edu

Dr. Hamad joined the Infectious Diseases Division in August 2016.

Phone314-747-1206

Emailkhanniga@wustl.edu

I received my Bachelor’s degree in Nursing at Southeast Missouri State University. I went on to receive my degree as a Family Nurse Practitioner at Maryville University. I started my nursing career working in inpatient general medicine and heart and vascular surgery at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. I have specialized in Infectious Diseases since 2013.

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-0240

Fax314-362-1232

Emailjhenders@wustl.edu

Second Year Fellow

Emailmhendrix@wustl.edu

I am originally from Kingman, Arizona. I received a medical degree from The College of Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) and completed my residency at Washington University School of Medicine.

I enjoy indoor climbing and own over 300 board games. I am currently married with no children.

Phone314-454-8338

Emailmhlatshwayo@wustl.edu

Faculty with Adjunct Status

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8224

Fax314-454-5392

Emailkhsueh@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-4780

Emailistvan@wustl.edu

Interests: Research focus -Mapping the malaria parasite druggable genome

Program Director, Infectious Diseases Fellowship

Phone314-454-8214

Fax314-454-5392

Emailnkirmani@wustl.edu

Phone314-454-0058

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmklebert@wustl.edu

Professor, Departments of Medicine, Anatomy & Neurobiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-286-2140

Fax314-362-9230

Emailrklein@wustl.edu

Interests: Her long-term research goal is to understand the molecular basis of inflammation-associated dysfunction and damage in the central nervous system (CNS) in viral and autoimmune encephalitides and to identify potential therapeutic targets for the treatment of neuroinflammatory diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailfkuhlman@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailj.kwon@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgkyei@wustl.edu

Interests:  My research efforts are focused on (i) characterization of factors that control HIV replication in macrophages, dendritic and resting T cells and (ii) identification of cellular factors and small molecules required for HIV reactivation in latently infected cells. My clinical interest is in the care of HIV positive patients.

Second Year Fellow

Emailfrances.lahrman@wustl.edu

I am originally from Indiana. I received my undergraduate and master’s degrees from Purdue University and went to medical school at Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine. For residency I trained at the University of Chicago (NorthShore). I am married and my husband is a radiology resident in Milwaukee.

One of my hobbies is running and my husband and I also enjoy spending our time outdoors with our dog.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emaillanem@wustl.edu

Interests:   leading safety strategy and activities across all BJC programs and leadership responsibilities for BJC’s quality program.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emailslawrenc@wustl.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone3142860645

Emaildwleung@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailsyliang@wustl.edu

Physician's Assistant

Phone314-747-4373

Emailpliang@wustl.edu

Fourth Year Fellow

Faculty with Adjunct Status

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcmattar@wustl.edu

After completing an ID fellowship at Washington University in St. Louis, Caline Mattar, MD, joined the Division of Infectious Diseases in July, 2016.

First Year Fellow

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailjay.mcdonald1@va.gov

Instructor in Medicine

Interests: HIV medicine and emerging infectious diseases -specially tuberculosis- within the frame of a Global Health perspective.

Nurse Practitioner, ID Bone & Joint Service

Phone314-747-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmmercier@wustl.edu

Maureen received her first Bachelor’s degree in psychology from Clark University in Worcester, MA. She went on to pursue a Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing followed immediately by a Master’s of Science in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care from Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing. Prior to starting her career at Washington University School of Medicine, she worked as a staff nurse at Barnes Jewish Hospital – Level One trauma and emergency department.

 

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-3044

Fax314-362-4096

Emailmmiller23@wustl.edu

Interests: in vivo imaging approaches to study cellular immunity, in particular cellular mechanisms of antigen presentation and leukocyte trafficking during infection and inflammation

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-286-2005

Fax314-286-1810

Emailmmitreva@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Mitreva’s current research takes advantage of next-generation genomic and computational approaches to empower the study of infectious diseases and the human microbiome.

Instructor in Medicine

Phone3144548293

Emailaaloke.mody@wustl.edu

Instructor in Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Emaildmuthulingam@wustl.edu

First Year Fellow

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emaill.non@wustl.edu

Phone314-7471206

Fax314-362-9851

Emailrachelobrien@wustl.edu

Prior to becoming a nurse practitioner, I worked as an emergency and trauma staff nurse for six years with the majority of that time at Barnes Jewish Hospital Emergency Department and Level 1 Trauma Center.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3144548354

Emailjaneaohalloran@wustl.edu

Joined ID Division faculty 2019, following 3 year fellowship at WUSM ID

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmolsen@wustl.edu

Interests: My primary research interests involve the epidemiology of hospital-acquired infections, particularly surgical site infection, and the use of administrative and claims data to study surgical complications.

Nurse Practitioner, ID Hospitalist Service

Phone314-454-8354

Emailkorton@wustl.edu

Kadie joined the Division of Infectious Diseases in May 2016.  She received her Bachelor’s degree in Nursing from Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College in 2010.  She went on to receive her Master’s degree in Nursing as an Adult Nurse Practitioner from Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College in 2014. Prior to joining ID, her Nursing career was spent in Oncology at Barnes-Jewish Hospital which sparked her interest in Infectious Diseases.

 

 

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailapande@wustl.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrupapatel@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Patel’s current research interests lie in biomedical HIV prevention implementation strategies. Currently PrEP implementation at the policy, organizational, and consumer level and focuses on PrEP access to care for young adult MSM. International PrEP implementation is also of interest to Dr Patel.

Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology & Co-director, Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-747-8058

Emailjphilips@wustl.edu

Interests: Jennifer A. Philips laboratory investigates how Mycobacterium tuberculosis evades immune eradication.

J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine & Co-director, Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-8294

Emailwpowderl@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Powderly is Co-Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine, and heads the clinical activities (patient care and research) of the Infectious Diseases faculty and fellows. He is the Dr. J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine in the School of Medicine and is the Larry J. Shapiro Director of the Institute of Public Health. He is also Director of the Washington University Institute for Clinical and Translational Science.

Dr. Powderly’s research interests have been concentrated in varying aspects of HIV infection and has served in a number of leadership roles in his field, including vice chair of the U.S. AIDS Clinical Trials Group and chair of its scientific steering committee. He is also a past-President of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrpresti@wustl.edu

Interests: My research interests include identifying and characterizing the microbiome/virome in the pathogenesis of HIV infection. My clinical interests include improving the care of HIV infected patients who are coinfected with emerging viruses.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8982

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrrao@wustl.edu

Dr. Ramakrishna Rao’s current research activities are related to molecular diagnosis of filarial infections, and the role of Wolbachia endobacteria in the growth, development and reproduction of filarial worms.

Second Year Fellow

Emaila.rauseoacevedo@wustl.edu

Interests: My interest in ID began during my training in Venezuela where I encountered a variety of tropical infectious diseases. I

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailhreno@wustl.edu

Interests: My research and clinical interests are to improve the quality of care for patients with sexually transmitted diseases.  I also collaborate with researchers in microbiome work, especially focused on bacterial vaginosis.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3142861897

Emailbarosa@wustl.edu

First Year Fellow

Second Year Fellow

Emailsjsayood@wustl.edu

I am from Lincoln, Nebraska . I graduated with Distinction with a Bachelor of Engineering in 2011 from the College of Engineering at the University of Nebraska. I am also a graduate of the Univesrity Honors Program. I received my medical degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha NE.

I participated in the Enhanced Medical Edcuation Track: Quality Assurance and Patient Safety. Outside of work I enjoy reading, going to shows, and a very occasional hike.

Assistant Professor

Phone314-747-0050

Emailliang.shan@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Shan’s current research focuses on immune response to HIV-1 infection. He uses humanized mouse models to develop vaccination strategies to target HIV-1 latent reservoir.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-8368

Emailjonathan.sheehan@wustl.edu

Interests: Personalized Structural Biology

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-3888

Emailhaina.shin@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Shin’s research interests center on immune responses to herpes simplex virus infection.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailaspec@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Spec ‘s research is in fungal infections, particularly in immunocompromised patients, including those with transplants. His research focuses on Cryptococcus, Histoplasma, Candida, Aspergillus and other invasive molds.  Dr. Spec also runs the division’s clinic focusing on invasive fungal infections, where he takes care of both immunocompromised and immunocompetent patients with fungal infections, which he considers the best and most rewarding part of his job.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-935-5673

Fax314-935-8535

Emailbstoner@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Stoner holds a joint appointment as Associate Professor of Anthropology in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. His research focuses on the clinical epidemiology of sexually transmitted diseases and socio-cultural factors, which influence infectious disease risk in human populations. He also serves as Chief of STD Services for the St. Louis County Department of Health, and is Medical Director of the St. Louis STD/HIV Prevention Training Center.

Research interests: Virology and the molecular identification of new and emerging pathogens.

Faculty with Adjunct Status

Faculty with Adjunct Status

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-7976

Emaillthackray@wustl.edu

Research Interests:  Dr. Thackray completed her postdoctoral training in the laboratory of Dr. Herbert Virgin at Washington University. Dr. Thackray’s research interests center on elucidating virus-host-microbiota interactions that modulate disease outcome following infection with medically important viruses.

 

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Emailm.c.vazquezguillamet@wustl.edu

Second Year Fellow

Emaild.vo@wustl.edu

I was born and raised in Fort Smith, AR. I attended medical school at UAMS in Little Rock, AR. My residency training took place at UAB in Birmingham, AL. I enjoy being outdoors particularly on a bright, warm, and sunny day.

My hobbies include running/ hiking/ exploring new trails and (more recently) fishing. I also enjoy experiencing new foods and restaraunts. I do have a sweet tooth and have known to frequently bring candy to share.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emaildwarren@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Warren currently serves as the Hospital Epidemiologist for Barnes-Jewish Hospital. He is also the directs the Clinical Research Training Center and the Masters of Science in Clinical Investigation at Washington University. His research interests center around the epidemiology and prevention of healthcare-associated infections, by developing methods to prevent the spread of antimicrobial-resistant bacteria among hospitalized patients.

His clinical interests include staphylococcal infections, orthopedic infections, medical device-related infections and general infectious diseases.

Clinic Manager Outpatient Infectious Diseases

Phone314-747-1206

Emaillwatkins@wustl.edu

Professor, Departments of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5293

Emailgweil@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Weil’s professional interests include clinical parasitology, tropical medicine and global health. His laboratory conducts research on filarial nematode parasites that cause important tropical diseases such as elephantiasis and river blindness. This includes basic research on parasite biology and translational research to develop improved diagnostic tests and treatments. Weil serves as the PI for the DOLF project (Funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation).

Instructor in Medicine

Phone3143622847

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailkwoeltje@wustl.edu

Interests: Dr. Woeltje serves as Vice President, Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO) at BJC Healthcare. Dr. Woeltje’s research interests are in improving the quality of healthcare delivery, especially in the area of preventing healthcare-associated infections (HAI). In particular he has an interest in electronic surveillance for HAIs and other adverse patient events.

No results found