Hilary Reno receives Dean’s Impact Award

2024 Dean’s Impact Award Recipient Hilary E.L. Reno, MD, PhD, is a highly respected mentor and sponsor of student researchers within the WashU Medicine community broadly, and in the Department of Medicine’s Division of Infectious Diseases particularly. Mentees describe Reno as “the ultimate leader,” noting that she “is a wonderful teacher/mentor, and truly hones the […]

Kwon, Newland named to antibiotic resistance advisory council

Will advise leadership in office of secretary of U.S. Department of Health and Human Service Jennie H. Kwon, DO, an associate professor of medicine in infectious diseases, and Jason G. Newland, MD, a professor of pediatrics, both at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, have been selected to serve on the Presidential Advisory […]

Victoria Fraser, MD presented with SHEA Senior Scholar Award at IDWeek 2023

SHEA’s Senior Scholarship Award recognizes the work of an investigator/practitioner in infection prevention/healthcare epidemiology in practice for 15 years or more. Selection is based on the breadth and quality of the nominee’s contributions to infection prevention/healthcare epidemiology. Congratulations, Victoria Fraser, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA on your achievements and this well-deserved award!

Cherabie named ‘Let’s Stop HIV Together’ ambassador

Joseph Cherabie, MD, an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has been named a clinical ambassador for the national Let’s Stop HIV Together campaign, which is led by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The campaign aims to end the […]

Kap Sum Foong, MD, ID fellow alumnus, receives LEAP Fellowship

Congratulations, Kap Sum Foong, MD, ID Fellow 2019, on receiving a Leaders in Epidemiology, Antimicrobial Stewardship and Public Health Fellowship Award. The LEAP Fellowship is a $100,000 training award competitively granted to promising young infectious disease physicians. Funded by the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention, the fellowship aims to foster the next generation of […]

Kwon named chair of epidemiology society research committee

Jennie Kwon, DO, MSCI

Jennie H. Kwon, DO, an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has been named head of the Society of Healthcare Epidemiologists of America (SHEA) Research Committee. Kwon’s clinical and translational research is dedicated to infection prevention and combating antimicrobial resistance. Her lab […]

Abayomi Agbedi, MD, ID fellow 2007, receives 2022 Distinguished Physician Award

Dr. Agbedi was taken by surprise at Novant Health Rowan Regional Medical Center, where the Novant Health Infectious Diseases Specialty, Salisbury, NC, honored him with the 2022 Distinguished Physician Award. “I’m grateful to all my colleagues who thought I merited this award” said Agbedi, “Doing the work and doing it well, is not possible without […]

Congratulations, Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI, winner of 2022 SHEA Mid-Career Award

The Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA) recognizes the contributions and accomplishments of their members who have have had a meaningful impact to the organization. Recently, SHEA recognized colleagues who have given so much to SHEA and the fields of healthcare epidemiology, infection prevention, and antibiotic stewardship. We are delighted to announce the SHEA […]

Congratulations to our newly elected IDSA Fellows

We are proud to announce the following faculty, each who have been named a Fellow by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA), the nation’s leading infectious diseases professional society. Fellowship in IDSA is one of the highest honors in the field of infectious diseases. It recognizes distinguished clinicians and scientists from the United States […]

Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI advances to fellow of SHEA

Jennie Kwon, DO, MSCI

The Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA) honored Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI, assistant professor of medicine, infectious diseases, for her exceptional accomplishments in the field of Healthcare Epidemiology along with her years of service and commitment to SHEA. This category of academic membership honors individuals who have achieved special recognition and documented excellence […]

Congratulations, 2022 ID Fellow Graduates!

Through many years of education, hard work and determination, you made it! Congratulations to all of our fellows who completed their infectious diseases (ID) fellowship training. Gayathri Krishnan, MD, is an instructor in medicine and a medical education fellow, working on her Masters in Health Professional Education at Washington University School of Medicine. “One thing […]

Hilary Reno, MD, PhD joins Board of Directors of ASTDA

The American Sexually Transmitted Diseases Association recently elected Hilary Reno, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine, to the board of directors for a two year term. ASTDA is an organization devoted to the control and study of sexually transmitted diseases. Its objectives are: to support the control and ultimate eradication of STD; to support research […]

Victoria J. Fraser, MD, Thomas DeFer, MD Awarded Masterships in the American College of Physicians (ACP)

 Victoria J. Fraser, MD, Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine, was awarded Mastership in the American College of Physicians (ACP), one of the highest honors available to internists. ACP Mastership is conferred to recognize excellence and contributions to internal medicine. De Fer was presented Mastership for 2021-2022 and Fraser […]

Andrej Spec, MD, MSCI receives CRTC Mentor of the Year Award

Andrej Spec, MD

Faculty serve as mentors, role models and teachers to develop future leaders of clinical and translational research. Nominated by the Clinical Research Training Center (CRTC) scholars, Andrej Spec. MD, MSCI, assistant professor of medicine and ID fellow alum 2013, was selected by a vote of the CRTC Directors. The selection is based on dedication and […]

Jad Khoury, MD, ID Fellow Alum, receives Inaugural Mercy Hospital Clinical Provider Awards

The inaugural Mercy Clinic Provider Awards honored caregivers from their East Region. Jad Khoury, MD, ID Fellow 2003, was awarded Physician of the year as well as the Regional Physician of the Year. After a harrowing two years in a pandemic, Mercy Clinic took time to recognize the tremendous work and flexibility of its doctors […]