Hospital Epidemiology/Infection Prevention – Key Faculty & Research Interests

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emailhbabcock@wustl.edu

Dr Babcock specializes in prevention and outcomes of healthcare associated infections including respiratory viral infections, vaccination of healthcare workers, pathogen transmission in healthcare settings and protection of healthcare personnel.  She co-chairs the Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committeee (HICPAC) of the CDC. Her also serves on the bone and Joint/orthopedic infections inpatient consult service

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Emailburnham@wustl.edu

Dr. Burnham specializes in clinical research and implementation science, with a special focus on telemedicine, multidrug resistant organisms, and climate change.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Emailanne.butler@wustl.edu

Dr. Butler’s research interest is applying epidemiologic methods to clinical and claims data to study the prevention and treatment of common infections

Instructor in Medicine

Miguel A. Chavez, MD MSc is currently working with the BJH-Antimicrobial Stewardship program and the division of Hospital Medicine in the department of Internal Medicine as an Instructor.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailedubberk@wustl.edu

Dr. Dubberke specializes in clinical and translational infectious diseases, with a focus on transplant infectious diseases, hospital epidemiology, and Clostridioides difficile infection (CDI).

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmdurkin@wustl.edu

Dr. Durkin uses administrative data to identify opportunities to improve antibiotic prescribing in outpatient settings, with a focus on outpatient and community settings; harnesses survey and qualitative research methods to identify potential solutions based on input from frontline providers; and designs, pilot tests, and disseminates antibiotic stewardship interventions using dissemination & implementation science and informatics technology.

Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine

Phone314-362-8061

Fax314-362-8015

Emailvfraser@wustl.edu

Dr. Fraser specializes in clinical, with a special focus on Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention and Antimicrobial Resistance and Stewardship

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8276

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgandras@wustl.edu

Dr. Gandra specializes in clinical and public health research with a special focus on antibiotic use, antibiotic resistance surveillance and healthcare epidemiology in resource limited settings especially in India.

Languages: English,Telugu, Hindi

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8224

Fax314-454-5392

Emailkhsueh@wustl.edu

Dr. Hsueh specializes in Antimicrobial Stewardship and Infection Prevention, with special focus on practical design and implementation of healthcare quality and safety improvement interventions.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailj.kwon@wustl.edu

Dr. Kwon specializes in clinical and translational research with a focus on antimicrobial resistance and infection prevention.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailsyliang@wustl.edu

Dr. Liang’s primary research interests include trauma-related infections, orthopedic infections, device-associated infections, and management of infectious diseases and infection prevention in emergency care settings.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailjay.mcdonald1@va.gov

Dr. McDonalds’s interests are in hospital epidemiology, health care-associated infections, bacterial endocarditis, Clostridium difficile-associated diarrhea, surgical site infections, health services research and using administrative data to answer clinical questions.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmolsen@wustl.edu

Dr. Olsen’s primary research interests involve the epidemiology of hospital-acquired infections, particularly surgical site infection, and the use of administrative and claims data to study surgical complications.

Instructor in Medicine

Phone314-454-8254

Emailsjsayood@wustl.edu

Dr. Sayood performs clinical research with a specific focus on antimicrobial stewardship and clinical decision support.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emaildwarren@wustl.edu

Dr. Warren specializes in clinical research in Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention, with a special focus on the epidemiology and prevention of device-related infections and surgical site infections, plus improving diagnostic stewardship of microbiological testing to accurately diagnose infectious diseases.

Keith F. Woeltje, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailkwoeltje@wustl.edu

Dr. Woeltje serves as Co-lead, Biomedical Informatics in the Institute of Clinical and Translational Science, and serves as Medical Director of Advanced Analytics and Clinical Decision Support for BJC HealthCare.