Antimicrobial Resistance & Stewardship – Key Faculty

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Emailanne.butler@wustl.edu

Dr. Butler’s research interest is applying epidemiologic methods to clinical and claims data to study the prevention and treatment of common infections

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Emailburnham@wustl.edu

Dr. Burnham specializes in clinical research and implementation science, with a special focus on telemedicine, multidrug resistant organisms, and climate change.

Instructor in Medicine

Miguel A. Chavez, MD MSc is currently working with the BJH-Antimicrobial Stewardship program and the division of Hospital Medicine in the department of Internal Medicine as an Instructor.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailedubberk@wustl.edu

Dr. Dubberke specializes in clinical and translational infectious diseases, with a focus on transplant infectious diseases, hospital epidemiology, and Clostridioides difficile infection (CDI).

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailmdurkin@wustl.edu

Dr. Durkin uses administrative data to identify opportunities to improve antibiotic prescribing in outpatient settings, with a focus on outpatient and community settings; harnesses survey and qualitative research methods to identify potential solutions based on input from frontline providers; and designs, pilot tests, and disseminates antibiotic stewardship interventions using dissemination & implementation science and informatics technology.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8276

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgandras@wustl.edu

Dr. Gandra specializes in clinical and public health research with a special focus on antibiotic use, antibiotic resistance surveillance and healthcare epidemiology in resource limited settings especially in India.

Languages: English,Telugu, Hindi

Instructor in Medicine

Emailmhendrix@wustl.edu

Dr. Hendrix specializes in antimicrobial stewardship and clinical infectious disease with a special focus on COVID-19 and bone marrow transplant (BMT) recipients.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8224

Fax314-454-5392

Emailkhsueh@wustl.edu

Dr. Hsueh specializes in Antimicrobial Stewardship and Infection Prevention, with special focus on practical design and implementation of healthcare quality and safety improvement interventions.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailj.kwon@wustl.edu

Dr. Kwon specializes in clinical and translational research with a focus on antimicrobial resistance and infection prevention.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcmattar@wustl.edu

Dr. Mattar’s interest is in healthcare epidemiology and global health, more specifically in infection prevention in resource limited settings. Additionally, her current work involves bloodtsream and endovascular infections.

 

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailjay.mcdonald1@va.gov

Dr. McDonalds’s interests are in hospital epidemiology, health care-associated infections, bacterial endocarditis, Clostridium difficile-associated diarrhea, surgical site infections, health services research and using administrative data to answer clinical questions.

Instructor in Medicine

Phone314-454-8254

Emailsjsayood@wustl.edu

Dr. Sayood performs clinical research with a specific focus on antimicrobial stewardship and clinical decision support.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Emailm.c.vazquezguillamet@wustl.edu

Dr. Vazquez Guillamet’s main research interest is in infections caused by mutidrug resistant microbes in critically ill patients. She applies new methods to better stratify and predict the epidemiology, trajectories and outcomes of ICU patients at risk for MDR pathogens

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8225

Fax314-454-5392

Emaildwarren@wustl.edu

Dr. Warren specializes in clinical research in Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention, with a special focus on the epidemiology and prevention of device-related infections and surgical site infections, plus improving diagnostic stewardship of microbiological testing to accurately diagnose infectious diseases.