Kwon, Newland named to antibiotic resistance advisory council

Will advise leadership in office of secretary of U.S. Department of Health and Human Service Jennie H. Kwon, DO, an associate professor of medicine in infectious diseases, and Jason G. Newland, MD, a professor of pediatrics, both at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, have been selected to serve on the Presidential Advisory […]

William Powderly receives Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award

2023 Founders Day Ceremony at Washington University celebrated honorees on Saturday, November 4. William G. Powderly, MD, J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Sciences, was honored during the celebration with the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award. The Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award recognizes faculty […]

ID faculty selected for the 2023 Castle Connolly Top Doctors® list. (Links to an external site)

The Infectious Diseases Division, Department of Medicine, is proud to announce that six of our faculty have been selected for the 2023 Castle Connolly Top Doctors® list. They are: Hilary Babcock, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, Thomas Bailey, MD, Professor of Medicine, Erik Dubberke, MD, MSPH, Professor of Medicine, Nigar Kirmani, MD, Professor of Medicine, […]

Victoria Fraser, MD presented with SHEA Senior Scholar Award at IDWeek 2023

SHEA’s Senior Scholarship Award recognizes the work of an investigator/practitioner in infection prevention/healthcare epidemiology in practice for 15 years or more. Selection is based on the breadth and quality of the nominee’s contributions to infection prevention/healthcare epidemiology. Congratulations, Victoria Fraser, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA on your achievements and this well-deserved award!

IDWeek 2023 selects Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI for Program Committee Choice Award

IDWeek 2023 top four abstract submissions overall were selected for IDWeek Program Committee Choice Awards. The awards provided $2,500 each to support travel to IDWeek. The IDWeek Program Committee selected the recipients based on outstanding scientific research. These awards were selected from all accepted abstracts. Submitters did not apply for this award. Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI […]

We are pleased to announce faculty promotions for Presti, Henderson, Kwon and Shan.

We celebrate the successes and accomplishments of several ID faculty members who have been promoted. As the past two years have shown, an academic career in infectious diseases can be an unpredictable and challenging journey. Being promoted is an important goal, but only a small part of an incredibly rewarding career. Promoted to Professor of […]

COVID-19 cases on the rise in St. Louis (Links to an external site)

Doctors say it’s a slight bump from what was the lowest level of cases since the start of the pandemic. ST. LOUIS — COVID-19 cases are rising in the St. Louis area. Why? You guessed it: school.  “We are seeing steadily increasing levels of COVID,” Washington University Infectious Disease physician at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, Dr. Steven Lawrence said.

Four section head appointments announced for the clinical side of ID Division

The infectious diseases division at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has grown markedly in the last five years. In order to foster the continued success of our diverse missions, we are pleased to announce the appointment of four section heads for the clinical side of the ID Division. The major roles of […]

Cherabie named ‘Let’s Stop HIV Together’ ambassador

Joseph Cherabie, MD, an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has been named a clinical ambassador for the national Let’s Stop HIV Together campaign, which is led by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The campaign aims to end the […]

Congratulations to our newly elected IDSA Fellows

We are proud to announce the following faculty, each who have been named a Fellow by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA), the nation’s leading infectious diseases professional society. Fellowship in IDSA is one of the highest honors in the field of infectious diseases. It recognizes distinguished clinicians and scientists from the United States […]

Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI advances to fellow of SHEA

Jennie Kwon, DO, MSCI

The Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA) honored Jennie H. Kwon, DO, MSCI, assistant professor of medicine, infectious diseases, for her exceptional accomplishments in the field of Healthcare Epidemiology along with her years of service and commitment to SHEA. This category of academic membership honors individuals who have achieved special recognition and documented excellence […]

Congratulations, Hilary Reno, MD, PhD, awardee of the Partnership Development & Sustainability Support Program

The Washington University Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences recently announced five partnerships selected to receive funding through the 2022-2023 Partnership Development and Sustainability Support (PDSS) program. This funding enables partners to develop the trust, infrastructure, capacity and skills needed to undertake future collaborative research. Hilary Reno, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine, division of […]

Victoria J. Fraser, MD, Thomas DeFer, MD Awarded Masterships in the American College of Physicians (ACP)

 Victoria J. Fraser, MD, Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine, was awarded Mastership in the American College of Physicians (ACP), one of the highest honors available to internists. ACP Mastership is conferred to recognize excellence and contributions to internal medicine. De Fer was presented Mastership for 2021-2022 and Fraser […]

Inaugural Infectious Diseases Research Symposium 2022 June 17.

Washington University School of Medicine is a pioneer in groundbreaking research in all subspecialties in Infectious Diseases. We have vast experience with clinical, basic science and translational research and a long history of productive, impactful, and effective work to showcase for that. The organizing committee of this inaugural symposium includes William G. Powderly, MD, J. […]