Alumni Division Announcements

Aspiring physicians honor medical faculty in infectious diseases

Nigar Kirmani, MD, applauds at the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards ceremony March 1 on the Medical Campus. She was among several award recipients honored by medical students.

Recognizing excellence and dedication in medical education during a time of unprecedented challenges, students at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis recently honored faculty, residents and staff with Distinguished Service Teaching Awards for the 2020-21 academic year.

This year also marks the official debut of the Gateway Curriculum, the first overhaul of the School of Medicine’s program of studies in more than two decades. The honorees have gone above and beyond, and the students show their appreciation to their ongoing commitment to excellence in medical education.

The Medical Student Government, with the support of the Office of Medical Education and the Academy of Educators, updated this year’s awards to reflect tenets of the new curriculum and the School of Medicine’s mission statement with new categories such as inclusion, creativity, and medicine and society.

The students recognized two infectious diseases faculty members in the Distinguished Service Teaching awards in two separate categories.

Class of 2023

Distinguished Service Teaching Award: Category in Critical Thinking — Nigar Kirmani, MD, professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases is a recipient of this award. Dr. Kirmani is a recipient of the distinguished service teaching award each year for over a decade.

Class of 2022

Attending Award Clinical Educator of the Year: Gerome Escota, MD, associate professor of medicine. Dr. Escota is a four-time recipient of the Department of Medicine House Staff Teaching Award, Distinguished Faculty in Infectious Diseases, Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. Escota recently moved to Minnesota to be close to his family. He joined the infectious diseases practice at Parc Nicollet Clinic and Specialty Center in St. Louis Park, Minnesota.

(From left) Lisa Zickuhr, MD, holds a picture of Gerome Escota, MD, as she stands with Sarah Cohen, representing the Class of 2022, and clerkship coordinator Megan Dietrich. Escota, Zickuhr and Dietrich were honored at the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards ceremony March 1 on the Medical Campus, but Escota could not attend.

See additional awardees.