Global Health – Key Faculty

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5392

Emailpbudge@wustl.edu

Dr. Budge specializes in translational, public health-related research, with a special focus on filarial infections—insect-borne threadlike parasitic worms that cause lymphatic filariasis (elephantiasis), onchocerciasis (river blindness), and loiasis (African eye worm).

The Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-362-2842

Fax314-362-9230

Emaildiamond@wusm.wustl.edu

Michael Diamond, MD, PhD is the leader of a basic and translational research laboratory studying the interface between viral pathogenesis and host immunity. His laboratory focuses on emerging RNA viruses including flaviviruses, alphaviruses, and coronaviruses.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Dr. Fischer specializes in basic and translational sciences to support the control and elimination of neglected tropical diseases, with a special focus on helminths.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8276

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgandras@wustl.edu

Dr. Gandra specializes in clinical and public health research with a special focus on antibiotic use, antibiotic resistance surveillance and healthcare epidemiology in resource limited settings especially in India.

Languages: English,Telugu, Hindi

Professor of Medicine

Emailelvin.geng@wustl.edu

Dr. Geng conducts research to advance the use of evidence-based interventions in the public health response to HIV and COVID-19 as well as increasingly for non-communicable diseases as well.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailfkuhlman@wustl.edu

Dr. Kuhlmann specializes in translational sciences, with a special focus on global health.  He studies the interaction between malnutrition and infectious diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Emailcarlosmejia@wustl.edu

Dr. Mejia specializes in general infectious disease, with a special focus on mycobacterial infections and global health. He’s currently developing a joint clinical with Pulmonology to care for patients with nontuberculous mycobacterial (NTM) infections. He also collaborates with Dr. O’Halloran and Dr. Samayoa, from Roosevelt Hospital Guatemala.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-286-2005

Fax314-286-1810

Emailmmitreva@wustl.edu

There are two main threads to Dr. Mitreva’s current research. The continued development of molecular information, bioinformatics tools, and reagents for the study of parasitic infections is crucial, therefore she takes advantage of next-generation technologies and implements comparative genomics approaches to study the biology and cellular pathways of these important parasites. The second area of her research is focused on the human microbiome. The approaches she undertakes in these two areas have the potential for significant impact due to the recent explosion in the amount of data requiring analysis.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrupapatel@wustl.edu

Dr. Patel specializes in biomedical HIV prevention clinical research and program development domestically and internationally. Her research includes using dissemination and implementation science methods to accelerate the integration of PrEP into routine care at the organization level at health and non-health facilities, as well as community linkage to PrEP care.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcmattar@wustl.edu

Dr. Mattar’s interest is in healthcare epidemiology and global health, more specifically in infection prevention in resource limited settings. Additionally, her current work involves bloodtsream and endovascular infections.

 

J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine & Co-director, Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-454-8287

Fax314-454-8294

Emailwpowderly@wustl.edu

Dr. Powderly has been actively involved in HIV-related clinical research for over thirty years with specific interests in opportunistic infections, metabolic complications and long-term outcomes of antiretroviral therapy.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-273-5550

Emailbarosa@wustl.edu

Dr. Rosa’s experience in the statistical analysis of complex datasets (utilizing multiple types of evidence spanning treatments or species) has led to the identification differentially expressed genes, drug targets and pathways of interest for experimental verification.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailaspec@wustl.edu

Dr. Spec ‘s research is in fungal infections, particularly in immunocompromised patients, including those with transplants. His research focuses on Cryptococcus, Histoplasma, Candida, Aspergillus and other invasive molds.  Dr. Spec also runs the division’s clinic focusing on invasive fungal infections, where he takes care of both immunocompromised and immunocompetent patients with fungal infections, which he considers the best and most rewarding part of his job.

Professor, Departments of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5293

Emailgweil@wustl.edu

Dr. Weil’s research group conducts research on filarial nematode parasites that cause important tropical diseases such as elephantiasis and river blindness. This includes basic research on parasite biology and translational research to develop improved diagnostic tests and treatments.