Global Health – Key Faculty

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5392

Emailpbudge@wustl.edu

Dr. Budge specializes in translational, public health-related research, with a special focus on filarial infections—insect-borne threadlike parasitic worms that cause lymphatic filariasis (elephantiasis), onchocerciasis (river blindness), and loiasis (African eye worm).

The Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology

Phone314-362-2842

Fax314-362-9230

Emaildiamond@wusm.wustl.edu

Michael Diamond, MD, PhD is the leader of a basic and translational research laboratory studying the interface between viral pathogenesis and host immunity. His laboratory focuses on emerging RNA viruses including flaviviruses, alphaviruses, and coronaviruses.

Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-7876

Fax314-454-5293

Emailpufische@wustl.edu

Dr. Fischer specializes in basic and translational sciences to support the control and elimination of neglected tropical diseases, with a special focus on helminths.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8276

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgandras@wustl.edu

Dr. Gandra specializes in clinical and public health research with a special focus on antibiotic use, antibiotic resistance surveillance and healthcare epidemiology in resource limited settings especially in India.

Languages: English,Telugu, Hindi

Professor of Medicine

Emailelvin.geng@wustl.edu

Research Interest: Dr. Geng’s interests include Implementation research, HIV, and engagement in treatment and care; clinical interests are in HIV and general infectious diseases.
Langauges: English, Chinese (Mandarin)

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-362-1206

Fax314-454-5392

Emailfkuhlman@wustl.edu

Dr. Kuhlmann specializes in translational sciences, with a special focus on global health.  He studies the interaction between malnutrition and infectious diseases.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrupapatel@wustl.edu

Research Interests: Dr. Patel’s current research interests lie in biomedical HIV prevention implementation strategies. Currently PrEP implementation at the policy, organizational, and consumer level and focuses on PrEP access to care for young adult MSM. International PrEP implementation is also of interest to Dr Patel.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailcmattar@wustl.edu

Research Interest: antimicrobial resistance, infection prevention and interventions to promote appropriate antibiotic use in resource limited settings, global and international health, travel medicine, infectious diseases in pregnancy.

Outpatient Antimicrobial Therapy Committee Member

J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine & Co-director, Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-454-8287

Fax314-454-8294

Emailwpowderly@wustl.edu

Dr. Powderly has been actively involved in HIV-related clinical research for over thirty years with specific interests in opportunistic infections, metabolic complications and long-term outcomes of antiretroviral therapy.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3142861897

Emailbarosa@wustl.edu

Dr. Rosa’s experience in the statistical analysis of complex datasets (utilizing multiple types of evidence spanning treatments or species) has led to the identification differentially expressed genes, drug targets and pathways of interest for experimental verification.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8354

Fax314-454-5392

Emailaspec@wustl.edu

Research Interest: Dr. Spec ‘s research is in fungal infections, particularly in immunocompromised patients, including those with transplants. His research focuses on Cryptococcus, Histoplasma, Candida, Aspergillus and other invasive molds.  Dr. Spec also runs the division’s clinic focusing on invasive fungal infections, where he takes care of both immunocompromised and immunocompetent patients with fungal infections, which he considers the best and most rewarding part of his job.

Professor, Departments of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology

Phone314-747-5198

Fax314-454-5293

Emailgweil@wustl.edu

Dr. Weil’s research group conducts research on filarial nematode parasites that cause important tropical diseases such as elephantiasis and river blindness. This includes basic research on parasite biology and translational research to develop improved diagnostic tests and treatments.