Division Announcements

Megan Tierney Baldridge elected to prestigious honor society for physician scientists

Megan Baldridge, MD, PhD (center) with Paige Cooper Byas, PhD, program officer at the Burroughs Wellcome Fund and alumnus of Washington University MCB training program, and Jacqui Hawkins, PhD, director of Scientific Training of Physician-Scientists at WUSM, also in attendance at the ASCI New Member Induction Ceremony 2023.

The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) announced the election of 100 active and international members for 2023. These new members come from 49 different institutions and represent excellence across the breadth of academic medicine. They were officially inducted into the Society at the ASCI Dinner and New Member Induction Ceremony, April 21, 2023, as part of the AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting at the Swissotel Chicago. Among them is Megan Tierney Baldridge, MD, PhD, associate professor, departments of medicine (infectious diseases) and molecular microbiology. The Baldridge Lab studies interactions of the intestinal commensal microbiota with viral (such as murine norovirus) and bacterial pathogens, and the regulation of these interactions by the mucosal innate immune system. Her lab also explores viral evolution and phenotypic alterations in different immunological and anatomical contexts, using murine norovirus as a model.

New ASCI members also include Washington University School of Medicine faculty, Megan Anne Cooper, MD, PhD, professor of pediatrics, Brian J. DeBosch, MD, PhD, associate professor of pediatrics, Ryan C. Fields, MD, professor of surgery, Karen Joynt Maddox, MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine, Stacey Lynn Rentschler, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine, Rajan Sah, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine and Gregory F. Wu, MD, PhD, associate professor of neurology.

The Society was founded in 1908 and is home to over 3,000 members active across academic medicine and industry. For the 2023 Active and International membership nomination cycle, the Council considered 285 nominations received and recommended 100 nominees (the maximum) for election.

Congratulations to all the WUSM faculty who were inducted to the ASCI in 2023!