HIV/STI/PrEP – Key Faculty

NIH AIDS Clinical Trials Unit

Principal Investigator – Rachel M. Presti, MD, PhD

St. Louis STI/HIV Prevention Training Center 

Medical Director – Hilary E. L. Reno, MD, PhD

 

Phone314-747-0164

Emailepbarrette@wustl.edu

Dr. Barrette specializes in the primary care of patients living with HIV infection and AIDS.  He has a special interest in opioid use disorder.

Instructor in Medicine

Phone314-454-8254

Emailjcherabie@wustl.edu

Dr. Cherabie specializes in sexual health care with a focus on LGBTQIA+ health, sexually transmitted infections (STI), and HIV, all within the lens of medical education.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Emailescotag@wustl.edu

Dr. Escota specializes in clinical infectious disease, with a special focus on medical education, health disparities, HIV, and sexually transmitted infections (STI).

Professor of Medicine

Emailelvin.geng@wustl.edu

Dr. Geng conducts research to advance the use of evidence-based interventions in the public health response to HIV and COVID-19 as well as increasingly for non-communicable diseases as well.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailgkyei@wustl.edu

Dr. Kyei specializes in HIV basic and translational research, with a special focus on viral latency and reactivation specifically:  (i) characterization of factors that control HIV replication in macrophages, dendritic and resting T cells and (ii) identification of cellular factors and small molecules required for HIV reactivation in latently infected cell and (iii) perspectives of HIV patients on HIV cure.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Emailcarlosmejia@wustl.edu

Dr. Mejia specializes in general infectious disease, with a special focus on mycobacterial infections and global health. He’s currently developing a joint clinical with Pulmonology to care for patients with nontuberculous mycobacterial (NTM) infections. He also collaborates with Dr. O’Halloran and Dr. Samayoa, from Roosevelt Hospital Guatemala.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone 3144548215

Emailaaloke.mody@wustl.edu

His overarching research interests are in utilizing implementation science and epidemiologic methods to better understand how to deliver high-quality and patient-centered HIV care in routine practice resource-limited settings

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Phone3144548354

Emailjaneaohalloran@wustl.edu

Dr. O’Halloran specializes in clinical and translational research in infectious disease, with a special focus on HIV, SARS-CoV-2 and other viral infections.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrupapatel@wustl.edu

Dr. Patel specializes in biomedical HIV prevention clinical research and program development domestically and internationally. Her research includes using dissemination and implementation science methods to accelerate the integration of PrEP into routine care at the organization level at health and non-health facilities, as well as community linkage to PrEP care.

J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine & Co-director, Infectious Diseases Division

Phone314-454-8287

Fax314-454-8294

Emailwpowderly@wustl.edu

Dr. Powderly has been actively involved in HIV-related clinical research for over thirty years with specific interests in opportunistic infections, metabolic complications and long-term outcomes of antiretroviral therapy.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8215

Fax314-454-5392

Emailrpresti@wustl.edu

Dr. Presti specializes in clinical and translational research in infectious disease, with a special focus on HIV, SARS-CoV-2 and other viral infections.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Phone314-454-8293

Fax314-454-5392

Emailhreno@wustl.edu

Dr. Reno specializes in sexual health care, with a special focus on the clinical care of sexually transmitted infections (STI) and the intersection with HIV prevention.

Instructor in Medicine

Emaild.vo@wustl.edu

Dr. Vo’s joined the faculty in 2021. His interests lie with HIV/STI/PrEp and Public Health and Implementation Science.